David Oistrakh

String Quartet

David Oistrakh String Quartet features today’s most outstanding musicians of Russia.

In 2012 the family of the legendary 20th century violinist honored the quartet with his name.  Over the years of  artistic friendship and passion for art of quartet led the young soloists and the grand masters of quartet to form this extraodinary ensemble.

75 years after the triumph of the Russian legend David Oistrakh at the Queen Elisabeth International Violin Competition, the first violinist of the quartet Andrey Baranov symbolically won the first prize in 2012.

New Release

Tchaikovsky & Shostakovich /
David Oistrakh String Quartet

The two principal works in this programme have more in common than just their geographical origin. Although Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich, born three generations apart, lived in diametrically opposite societies, they were both subject to social tensions, which fortunately contributed to the creation of their musical masterpieces.

Concert Schedule

show all dates